Highlight of the Day #40: So much to be thankful for!

I look back at my Sunday today, and I can’t pick one highlight of the day.

I’ve been under the weather since yesterday; slept at 2 last night, only to be woken up at 6:30 in the morning when Dad was leaving the house for his morning walk and pulled the door a little too loud.

I spent two hours in bed, not only feeling ill, but also, melancholic; when that negative feeling crept up, I knew I needed to get myself up and about.

I went for a walk, after months of being locked up, and even under the mask, it was refreshing to breathe in the fresh air.

Our society has a beautiful, large, central garden and with the onset of monsoons, the whole area was a green wonderland.

These trees are usually barren for most of autumn, winter and summer; and this was what I saw first when I stepped into the garden – and I had an instant smile on my face.
Sunday skies ⛅
❤️

When I got back home, hungry from the walking, (and let’s be honest, wearing that mask just takes up so much energy!); I had to wait a while before breakfast was ready, totally worth the wait though:

Mango Pancakes, made by bro! 🤤🤤

For the rest of the morning and well into the afternoon, I lay in bed, resting and binge-reading! From yesterday evening, to today afternoon I couldn’t put down my latest book, The Authenticity Project. I smiled, laughed, cried. I lived with those characters, felt their stories, and reading about all that authenticity made me seriously reflect on my life.

I’ve loved every minute of reading this book ❤️

Bro cooked a delicious meal today, Rajma and rice; a staple in our home. I couldn’t ever dare compare anyone’s Rajma with my mom’s, but this was a close second best, and if I didn’t know better, I wouldn’t have guessed this was his first try!

After lunch, I took a much needed nap. Woke up feeling better than I did all day, and decided to spend some time with mom. We watched a few inspirational episodes of Reese Witherspoon’s, ‘Shine On‘ on Netflix, a docu show where she sits down with amazing women, talking about what it takes to be a successful woman. It was the right kind of motivation before the week starts off tomorrow.


So there it is. A simple day at home today, despite being unwell, but just a lot to be thankful for!

Until tomorrow, xx

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Serrena Joy says:

    Beautiful pictures! I hope you recover soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ashok says:

    What a beautiful day – the garden as well as the meals. Good to have a talented bro 😎
    I do hope you eat fruits and salads too 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊 haha yeah, weekends are pure indulgence! Although, the pancakes are topped with fruit- the mangoes 😅😅

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ashok says:

        Weekend indulgence is always forgiven 🤩

        Like

Leave a comment